Portrait Artist Of The Year 2014

Story Vault | Independant Television Production | London

Which talented artist can be crowned Sky Arts Portrait Artist Of The Year 2014?

Following the enormous success of the first series, Joan Bakewell and Frank Skinner return with our esteemed judges to search across the UK and Ireland for a new star of the art world, whether amateur, professional or hobbyist.

The Competition

Six regional heats have taken place in London, Dublin, Edinburgh and Cardiff where shortlisted artists were challenged to produce a portrait of one of three famous sitters. At the end of each round the judges selected an artist to go through to the semi-final.

The winners from the heats then take part in more extraordinary portrait challenges, including painting multi-award-winning actor Sir Ian McKellen, before the grand final at the National Portrait Gallery.

The Famous Sitters

Famous sitters painted in the regional rounds included: Sol Campbell, Maisie Williams, John Humphries, Julian Fellowes, Roni Ancona, Helena Kennedy QC, Daniela Nardini, Gary Kemp, Ashley Jensen, Jilly Cooper, Melvyn Bragg, Daniel Roche, Neil Hannon, Sharon Corr, Colm Meaney, Non Evans, Greg Davies and Ade Apetan.

The Prizes

The four finalists will see their work exhibited at the National Portrait Gallery for a month and the winner will be awarded a £10,000 major commission for the Scottish National Portrait Gallery.

This prize commission will then be exhibited at the Scottish National Portrait Gallery and will become part of its permanent art collection. The winner will also receive a year’s supply of art materials courtesy of leading fine art supplier, Cass Art.

The Judges

  • Tai Shan Schierenberg – Award-winning portrait artist
  • Kathleen Soriano – Former Director of Exhibitions at the Royal Academy and the National Portrait Gallery
  • Kate Bryan – Head of Contemporary at the Fine Art Society